top of page

I really loved this book!

Felix Ever After

by Kacen Callender

This book is a must read! Felix Ever After is a beautiful portrayal of self discovery that captures the struggle of self love and acceptance that so many of us trans and non binary people face.

Being the black, trans, scholarship student at a pretentious art school in NYC comes with its own brand of drama. The protagonist, Felix Love, is not immune. He finds himself sorting through typical teen drama as well as complex and personal challenges unique to his own existence, yet so relatable. As demiboy-ish human, I felt such gratitude for this story. I personally seem to be in this lifelong state of question, not because my gender changes, but because it is hard to pinpoint. I know that I am not female because I have tried (really, really, tried for many years). I know "boy" once fit, but I'm grown now and I don't feel like a man, I am not sure that I ever will. I felt that Callender was able to capture this so well. He also captures the loneliness Felix experiences as he navigates this path, despite being surrounded by people that love him. The story is told in such a way that you are reminded that you are not alone. Felix's determination to define himself feeds the reader. There were many times I felt so connected to Felix's character and other times I wanted to take his phone away. Felix is juggling the weight of marginalization and hate while longing to find (and understand) love. He allows us in on the vulnerable journey of finding his identity while fighting the hate both within and around him. Callender has crafted this story with its own unique beauty. He builds the world so that each character is complex and realistic. It’s the kind of book that everyone can see their reflection in.


This story is Felix’s journey of self discovery, questioning, fear, learning how to be loved and how to love himself. I strongly suggest it to everyone, and I really hope there is going to be a sequel or two!



1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Yorumlar


bottom of page